YMS wins football title

The Yuma Middle School football team concluded an undefeated season last Saturday with a 24-0 win over Burlington in the league championship game held in Yuma.
It is the first time in a very long time that Yuma has won the junior high football championship.
Head coach Joe Oss said the coaches are incredibly proud what this group accomplished. “The kids worked hard all season and deserved the end result,” he said, adding he is excited to watch this group move into high school.
The team were deadlocked at zero when Yuma scored twice in the second quarter on Brody Kallweit runs. He also ran in the two-point conversions. Ty Weathers sealed it with a 46-yard touchdown run n the fourth, with Kallweit running in the two-point conversion.
YMS had 229 total yards, while holding Burlington to 86.
Weathers ran for 65 yards and a touchdown, Kallweit 55 yards and two touchdowns, Yandel Solano 39 yards and Stevie Seward 25 yards. Kallweit completed three of six passes for 44 yards. Seward had one catch for 25 yards, Bryan Montes one for 14, and Jose Mario Ross one for five yards.
Montes was in on four tackles, Seward 3.5, Weathers three, Ross 2.5, Leif Sims two, David Gaytan two, Kallweit 1.5, Jaden Munoz 1.5, and Jadiel Diaz and Kevin Tena one each.