It has been an uneven start to Season C for the Yuma High School volleyball team. The Indians fell to 2-5 overall, 1-3 in the Lower Platte Activities Association, after losing to Haxtun and Sedgwick County, Thursday in Haxtun. In both matches, the Indians lost the first two sets, wonContinue Reading

Due to those annoying COVID-19 circumstances, the Yuma High School boys basketball team was unable to win its fourth straight Lower Platte Activities Association title, but the Indians still got three players receiving All-LPAA honors by the league coaches. Yuma All-LPAA Clay Robinson — The junior earned himself another All-LPAAContinue Reading

Wray has dominated wrestling in the Lower Platte Activities Association, and most of 2A, for the past few years, but Yuma still was able to get two wrestlers named to the All-LPAA team by the league coaches. Senior Braden Smith was named to the All-LPAA team at 132 pounds, andContinue Reading

Stratton/Liberty opens 4-0 Stratton/Liberty’s volleyball team has enjoyed a strong start to Season C, sitting at 4-0 heading into today’s match at Idalia. The Knighted Eagles opened the season March 23 with a 25-8, 25-15, 25-15 win over Eads. Kennedy Frank recorded 12 kills, Hanna Rigirozzi seven, Lucero Ontiveros five,Continue Reading

The high school volleyball season is finally here. The Yuma Indians open the shortened Season C campaign today, March 25, at home with matches against Wiggins and Wray in The Pit. It will be the program’s first varsity matches since competing at the state tournament in November 2019. “I feelContinue Reading

It will be a Yuma County Showdown in the Class 2A boys basketball semifinals, tonight, March 18. The top-seed Wray Eagles will be hosting fourth-seed Yuma Indians at 7 p.m. in the Eagles Nest. The winner advances to the 2A championship game, Saturday at 12:30 p.m. at the World ArenaContinue Reading

The Road Warriors finally returned home Tuesday afternoon, after traveling more than 1,700 miles in one week. The Yuma High School girls basketball team might have come up a couple of games short of a state championship game appearance — but the Indians, coaches and some hearty fans definitely willContinue Reading

It was kind of a tough go of it for the Smith boys at the Class 2A State Wrestling Tournament, last Friday in Pueblo. Both Yuma High School wrestlers went 1-3 in the one-day event, placing sixth in their respective weights — John Smith at 120 and Braden Smith atContinue Reading

Mia Dischner was the only Yuma High School wrestlers competing in Colorado’s first sanctioned girls tournament, last week, and came home a placer. The junior wrestled last Thursday in the CHSAA Girls State Championship in the Southwest Motors Events Complex on the Colorado State Fairgrounds in Pueblo. She went 2-2Continue Reading