Yuma election includes council race, lodging tax question

There will be enough candidates for a Yuma City Council race in the April 7 municipal election.

Daniel Ebersole turned in his “cured” nomination petition by this past Monday’s deadline, resulting in five candidates for four council seats up for election. The other candidates are current council members Dan Baucke and Bryson Chrismer, along with Tim McClung and Jo Griggs.
Current Mayor Ron Swehla is the only candidate for the mayoral seat.
Current council members Bethleen McCall and Steve Hoch will not be running for another term. Seats currently held by Luke Goeglein and Ryan Saffer are not up for election until 2022.
The council also voted during its regular meeting this past Tuesday night to put a lodging tax question on the ballot. Look for more on that in future editions of the Pioneer.
The April 7 election will be a mail-in ballot election, per the council’s consensus at its previous meeting. The council was told a mail-in election costs more, but there is better participation.