All-Conference selections

Yuma High School had five players named to the 2022 1A League 4 All-Conference team, and one honorable mention, following the past season.

Yuma All-Conference
Cesar Varela — The senior was named as a lineman. He was a key player on an offensive line that helped lead the team to 2,668 rushing yards in 11 games, and an average of nearly 300 total yards per game. Yuma averaged 26.5 points per game. Varela also was key on the defensive line as he was in on 58 total tackles, tied for the most among Yuma linemen, and had 3.5 tackles for a loss.
Alex Lozano — The senior was named for special teams. He made 35 of 37 extra-point attempts. Lozano made five field goals, including the game-winner against Wiggins in the final seconds. Out of 55 kickoffs, 35 were booted into the end zone for touchbacks. He also was Yuma’s punter, averaging 36 yards per punt, and placed nine inside the 20-yard line.
Kevin Hermosillo — The senior made the team as a linebacker. He was second on the team in total tackles with 75, including eight for a loss. He also had one interception. Offensively, he tied for the team lead in receptions with 11 for 196 yards (a team high), and in touchdown receptions with three.
Kalen Blach — The senior was named all-conference as a linebacker. He was the team’s leading tackler with a total of 88, including eight for a loss. Offensively as a fullback, he tied for the team lead in receptions, for a total of 75 yards. He also ran for 121 yards, and tied for the team lead in touchdowns with seven.
Daman Hernandez — The senior made it as a defensive back. He is among the program’s single-season leaders in interceptions with six in 2022, and also recovered two fumbles. He was in on 45 total tackles, including 1.5 for a loss. On offense, he rushed for 217 yards and one touchdown, caught five passes, and tied for the team lead in TD receptions with three. He also was the primary kickoff and punt returner.
Ethan Goeglein, honorable mention — The senior came on late in the season to earn honorable mention. He was the featured back down the stretch, finishing with 692 rushing yards and tied for the team lead with seven touchdowns. Defensively, he was in on 39 tackles, including six for a loss. He had one interception.

All-1A League 4

Backs — Gabe Schubarth, Limon, sr.; Wyatt Sprague, Holyoke, jr.; Julio Flores, Wiggins, sr.; Cole Kerr, Wiggins, sr.; Linemen — Kaden Becker, Limon, sr.; Jace Pfost, Limon, sr.; Jackson Bledsoe, Wray, sr.; Laith Ibrahim, Wiggins, sr.; Americo Lorenzini, Wiggins, jr.; Cesar Varela, Yuma, sr.; Receivers/tight ends — Michael Hoffman, Limon, sr.; Chris Arambula, Wray, sr.; Cash Weber, Holyoke, jr.; Omar Perez, Wiggins, sr.; Athlete — Garret Richardson, Burlington, sr.; Special Teams — Alex Lozano, Yuma, sr.
Lineman — Treyton Marx, Limon, jr.; Miguel Nunez, Limon, sr.; Dominic Conrardy, Burlington, sr.; Brady Collins, Wray, sr.; Tel Wade, Wray, sr.; Pepper Rusher, Wiggins, sr.; Linebackers — Lohgan Bottjer, Limon, jr.; Keon Bandy, Limon, jr.; Kevin Hermosillo, Yuma, sr.; Kallen Blach, Yuma, sr.; Samuel Meisner, Wray, so.; Defensive backs — Dontarius Arnold, Limon, sr.; Daman Hernandez, Yuma, sr.; Jordan Rockwell, Limon, jr.; Bryson Dirks, Holyoke, jr.; Athlete — Matthew Gutierrez, Burlington, sr.;
Honorable Mention — Logan Boyd, Burlington, sr.; Angel Vela, Burlington, sr.; Tyson Mosenteen, Holyoke, jr.; Reid Sprague, Holyoke, so.; Lance Beedy, Limon, jr.; J.R. Meyer, Wiggins, so.; Peyton Wade, Wray, sr.; Ethan Goeglein, Yuma, sr.
Coach of the Year — Mitch Risner, Wiggins; Player of the Year — Gabe Schubarth, Limon, sr.; Linemen of the Year — Tel Wade, Wray, sr.; Laith Ibrahim, Wiggins, sr.

Robinson named All-LPAA
The Yuma High School volleyball team had only one selection to the 2022 Lower Platte Activities Association All-Conference Team.
That is not too terribly surprising as the LPAA featured Class 2A powers Sedgwick County and Wiggins, and 1A power Merino. Sedgwick County and Merino each won their respective state championships. Wray, Akron and Caliche did not even get one honorable mention.
Caddis Robinson was the only YHS player to earn All-LPAA. The junior led the team in kills with 270, in digs with 299, total blocks with 62, serving aces with 37, and in serve receive.

Cassidy Goddard, Haxtun, jr.; Bobbi Starkebaum, so., Haxtun; Tamara Penzing, Holyoke, sr.; Audrey Talavera, Holyoke, jr.; Jaylynn Lynch, Merino, fr.; Kya Piel, Merino, fr.; Brooklyn Sutter, so., Merino; Makenna Sutter, Merino, jr.; Abigail Dille, Sedgwick County, so.; Lainee Nein, Sedgwick County, fr.; Jensen Renquist, Sedgwick County, sr.; Avery Burdette, Wiggins, sr.; Tyleigh Fehseke, Wiggins, jr.; Riley Hunt, Wiggins, so,; Kennedy Kerr, Wiggins, so.; Caddis Robinson, Yuma, jr.; honorable mention — Megan Walker, Haxtun, jr.; Jadelynn Powell, Merino, fr.; Allie Bernhardt, Sedgwick County, sr.; Talyn Mese, Wiggins, sr.