Yuma boys wrestlers remain unbeaten in duals

The Yuma High School boys wrestling team improved to 7-0 in Season B, sweeping all three duals in a quadrangular held Saturday at Yuma Middle School and Morris Elementary.

The Indians started out the day with a win over Merino/Akron, then another team victory against Sedgwick County,

Yahir Trejo goes for the pin during a match Saturday at YMS. (Dave Gustafson)
both in the YMS gym. They closed out the day at Morris Elementary, knocking off Limon to complete the perfect day.
The Indians picked up a 51-30 win over Merino-Akron. Against the Akron wrestlers, Blaze Brophy got a 38-second pin over Laden Sampson, Brandon Mendoza got a pin in 1:26 over Xavier Livesay at 285, and Kallen Blach lost by fall at 195. Against the Merino wrestlers, Tyler Allen earned an 11-5 decision at 152 over Andrew Kaus, while Hugo Montes lost by fall at 126, and Kevin Hermosillo lost by fall at 182. Picking up forfeit wins were Maddox Hisam at 132, Trey Stegman at 145, Yahir Trejo at 160, Louden Blach at 170, Jose Ruiz at 220 and John Smith at 120. Yuma gave up forfeits at 106 and 113.
Kevin Hermosillo works over his opponent, Saturday at YMS. (Dave Gustafson)

The Indians had a close one against Sedgwick County/Fleming, pulling out a 44-36 dual win. Brophy won by technical fall over Joel Muller at 138. Stegman got a quick win by fall, 1:02, over Logan Edson at 145, Trejo won by fall, 4:49, over Alex Alcala at 160, Kevin Hermosillo won by fall, 2:25, over Chris Shrock at 182, and Smith earned an 8-2 decision at 120 over Marco Martinez. Hisam lost by fall at 132, Allen by fall at 152, K. Blach by fall at 195, and Montes by fall at 126. L. Blach, Ruiz and Mendoza got forfeit wins, and Yuma forfeited at 106 and 113.
Yuma beat Limon 39-21. Stegman won by fall, 1:25, over Ahren Schubarth at 145. Trejo got a 7-5 decision over Keon Bandy at 160. Ruiz won by fall, 1:01, at 220 over Treyton Marx. Mendoza won by fall, 1:28, over Chance Cannon at 285, and Smith won by fall, 1:54, over Jack Kissel at 120. Will Marshall got a forfeit win at 138, as did Montes at 126. Allen lost by fall at 152, L. Blach by a 7-1 decision at 170, Hermosillo by a 6-2 decision at 182, K. Blach by a 7-6 decision at 195, and Hisam by fall at 132.