Yuma might not have council election

The fields have been set for local council and town board elections in April.

Monday was the deadline for potential candidates to turn in their nomination petitions.

The April 2 election will be the last municipal election for Yuma as it moves to November elections beginning in 2025. However, there might not even be an election as there are four candidates for the four seats whose terms are coming to an end. Tim McClung is the only candidate for mayor, while Dan Baucke, Zach Diaz and Marc Shay are candidates for three council seats. McClung currently is on the council. Incumbent mayor Ron Swehla is not running for another term. Baucke and Shay also currently are on the council. City Clerk Karma Wells reported that one of the petitions must be “cured” by January 30 to be valid.

There still could be an election as potential candidates have until Monday, January 29, to fill out an affidavit as a write-in candidate.

The Town of Eckley Board of Trustees has five seats whose terms are coming to an end, the mayor and four trustees. There will be an election as there are five candidates for the four trustee seats. The candidates are Cheryl Rogers, Tyler Shell, Tim Probasco, Christi Vance and Kaci Sholes. Rogers, Shell and Probasco currently are on the board. Trustee Morgan Spencer is not running for another term. Incumbent Elno “Bud” Hagemeier is the only candidate for mayor. All seats carry a two-year term.

Otis did not have any petitions turned in. There are three seats up for election, each with a four-year term. Otis will have a municipal election even without candidates as voters will have a ballot question asking to reduce the board to five members.