Robinson, Weathers, Jefferson repeat as track athletes of the year

Area teenagers once again dominated the Athlete of the Year Award in Colorado High School track and field.
The all-state track picks were released recently on
Yuma High School graduate Clay Robinson again earned Class 2A Athlete of the Year, and Lucas Lubbers was named Coach of the Year as the Indians repeated as state champions.
Robinson was a three-time champion at the 2A meet, last month, winning the 200, 400 and long jump, and was a close second in the 100.

Yuma’s Fatima Duran, Lea Richardson, Lyndsey Mekelburg and Caddis Robinson earned all state honors by winning the 800 sprint medley.
Lone Star’s Alivia Weathers was named the Class 1A Athlete of the Year for the second straight year. She won the pole vault and triple jump last month and had two other high finishes, after winning all four of her events as a junior.
Arickaree/Woodlin’s Jacob Jefferson also repeated as the Class 1A Athlete of the Year. The junior won the 400-meter dash and the 110-meter hurdles.